Torrey Craig joins Brisbane Bullets - NBL - The National Basketball League

Basketballtek Academy is excited to be working closely with the Brisbane Bullets this year to help promote basketball at the grassroots level.  We'll follow the Bullets closely over the next few months as they complete their roster and get ready for the 2015/2016 season.  Below is an article from the NBL on the Brisbane's first import signing.

May 9th, 2016

Torrey Craig joins Brisbane Bullets

The relaunched Brisbane Bullets have signed their first import player with Torrey Craig joining the National Basketball League outfit for the next two seasons.

The 198cm small forward’s sensational half-court shot while playing for the Cairns Taipans was ESPN’s number one play in their Sportscenter program’s Top 10 in January this year.

Craig, 25, who attended the University of South Carolina Upstate, led the Taipans in rebounding (6.1 per game) last season.

He was one of two imports in NBL last season to have 20 points and 15 rebounds in a game – the other import being former NBA player Josh Childress, playing for Sydney Kings.

Brisbane Bullets coach Andrej Lemanis, who’ll guide the Australian Boomers at this Olympic Games in Rio, believes Craig is the complete package.

“Torrey’s a proven commodity in the NBL which reduces risk associated with import players,” Lemanis said.

“He can score in multiple ways and is an excellent offensive rebounder. Torrey’s also very willing in defense which will align with the DNA of our team structure.

“We did thorough due diligence about Torrey. Every person I have spoken to about him has stated he is a quality person off the court.”

Currently playing for the Wellington Saints in the New Zealand NBL, Craig has been averaging 23 points and 10 rebounds per game and looks a strong chance of gaining back-to-back Most Valuable Player (MVP) awards.

The Brisbane Bullets will commence pre-season training on August 1, with Craig joining Shaun Bruce (Guard), Adam Gibson (Guard), Tom Jervis (Centre), Daniel Kickert (Power Forward), Anthony Petrie (Power Forward), Reuben Te Rangi (Guard/Forward) and Mitch Young (Forward/Centre) as the eight players signed so far, with three spots left on the roster.